Named after the mountain that the mythological Nine Muses called home, the Helicon Awards recognizes the best in science fiction, fantasy and horror for each calendar year.

The 2019 Helicon Awards covers works from 2018, serving as the inaugural year, and were announced on July 4, 2019 on the website of founding member Richard Paolinelli. The second annual awards were announced on April 2, 2020 and were also hosted on Paolinelli’s website.

Beginning in 2021, The Helicon Awards will be announced on January 14th here on this website.



2021 HELICON AWARDS  (Coming January 14, 2021)

Well, That Was Fun

We had an interesting 24 hours, to say the least. Originally, we were going to live tweet – one every two minutes – this year’s Helicon Award winners via our Twitter account and then release the full list here on the website a few minutes later. Everything was typed in and scheduled for Thursday morning. […]

Badges? We Don’t Need No…

…on the other hand, badges aren’t so bad after all.  If you are a recipient of a Helicon Award, either this year or over the prior two years, you should be able to shout about it. So we have created badges for the award winners to proudly display on their websites and on their book […]

2021 Helicon Awards

PRESENTING THE 2021 HELICON AWARD WINNERS Best Sci-Fi – To Sleep In A Sea of Stars – Christopher Paolini Best Fantasy – The Unbearable Heaviness of Remembering – L. Jagi Lamplighter Best Military SF/F – Space Force: Building The Legacy Edited by Doug Irvin Best Alt History – The Oppenheimer Alternative – Robert J. Sawyer Best […]

Our New Online Home

While we have been around for some time, we’ve never had an official online home. Until today. Welcome to the official website of The Helicon Society. You can find out a little bit about us here, discover the winners of our first two annual awards here (our third annual awards will be announced here and […]


Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.